Infusing inspiration with music

By Camille Moore

Kimi Frazier, Bianca High and Andrea Williams also contributed to the story

ATLANTA—Erica Arndts painting style is an eclectic mix of loud, bright colors with funky patterns, and an elaborate display of historical icons with music and pop culture being the focal point and underlying themes in her paintings.

A self-proclaimed music junkie, her artwork is inspired by her favorite musicians, she said.

“It reaches a nerve in me that electrifies me,” she said. “I like painting the people that inspire me, compared to painting horses or landscapes.”

Jimi Hendrix, Kenny Rodgers and Led Zeppelin are among her favorite artists. But she also enjoys classic rock, newer indie alternative music, good ole’ rock and roll and old country.

To find her inspirations, she will scour through images on the internet and find just the one that speaks to her personally. She finds something she can reproduce in her own style and something that captures their essence.

“One of those things you know when you see it,” she said. “That’s the one I will run with it.”

She accredits her colorful painting taste to similar art rebels she admires: Andy Warhol and Jean-Michel Basquiat.

“They said ‘forget the rules and fine art, I am going to do what I want to do’,” she said. “And they got ridiculed and judged but I appreciate people who are willing to take a risk and do what you want to do.”

The critics she said are her best ammo.

“I was told by people I went to last week that I am never going to make a painting, painting what I am painting now,” she said. “Well this is what I like to do and whether or not I have 800 clients or one, this is what I am good at and this is what feeds my soul.”

 

Leave a Reply

